Antique materials

Alain Edouard Bidal, the company's founder, first discovers the craft of the stonemasons during a diploma course in Blois. During this course, he will work on the renovation and restoration of famous Castles of the Loire Valley Château, a national architectural heritage (like Chambord or Chenonceau).

He then decides to settle down in Provence, where he will find a region rich in its architecture. He first starts to work for various local stone-cutting businesses and other stone quarries. In 1997, Alain Bidal enrolled at the French Chamber of Commerce in Avignon and begins its independent stone mason business. About 4 years later, in January 2001, he decides to create his own company "EURL Alain Edouard Bidal." You will find all our range of elements made of natural stone on our dedicated website:


Alain Bidal creates in 2005 "Les Mémoires d'Adrien" (referring to a famous book by Marguerite Yourcenar). Doing so, he widens its business by offering some antique materials. He travels throughout France in search of rare and authentic elements, part of the ancient heritage doomed to disappear, to offer a wide range of fireplaces, mantels, fountains, troughs and other architectural elements (floorings, pillars, wrought iron gates,...).These materials are carefully restored in our ateliers before being exposed in our 3-hectares landscaped park.

In 2008, Alain Bidal is recognized by his peers as a Maître Artisan d'Art (Master Craftsman of the Art).The same year, his company wins the label of "Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant” (Living Heritage) by the French Ministry of Economy, Finance and Employment. To date, this is the sole stone-business to have win this distinction in the Vaucluse. The EPV label, the excellence of French know-how, is a state label awarded by experts and a mark of recognition.

Discover all our models of creation made in natural stone quarried in France !

Matériaux anciens

Alain Edouard Bidal, fondateur de l’entreprise, découvre le métier de Tailleur de Pierre au sein d’une formation diplômante à Blois, au cours de laquelle il sera amené à travailler sur la rénovation et la restauration du patrimoine architectural national des châteaux de la Vallée de la Loire (Chambord, Chenonceau, etc.).

Il décide alors de s’installer en Provence où il trouvera une région riche en architecture. Il travaille alors pour diverses carrières et entreprises locales de taille de pierre. En 1997, après avoir enrichi son expérience dans divers ateliers de la région, Alain Bidal s’inscrit à la Chambre des Métiers d’Avignon et commence son activité de Tailleur de Pierre indépendant. 4 ans plus tard, il créé en janvier 2001 l’ "EURL Alain Edouard Bidal". Vous pouvez retrouver tous les éléments en taille de pierre sur le site qui y est dédié: www.sculptures-bidal.com

alt text

Passionné par l’Art, il crée en 2005 l’ "EURL Les Mémoires d’Adrien" (en référence au livre de Marguerite Yourcenar) et diversifie son offre avec des matériaux anciens. Il parcourt alors la France à la recherche d’éléments du patrimoine ancien, voués à disparaitre, et propose un large choix de cheminées, fontaines et éléments d'architecture (dallages, piliers, portails en fer forgé, etc.). Ces matériaux passent ensuite dans nos ateliers pour être décapés, restaurés, afin d'être présentés sur notre parc paysager de trois hectares.

En 2008, Alain Bidal est reconnu Maître Artisan d’Art et son entreprise est labellisée «Entreprise du Patrimoine Vivant» par le Ministère de l’économie, des finances et de l’emploi (unique entreprise dans les métiers de la pierre labellisée dans le Vaucluse).

Découvrez nos matériaux anciens
↑ Haut de page